top

VBox genius help please !

Post new topic Reply to topic trackscotland.co.uk Forum Index | Technical    Page 1 of 1

Sun May 15, 2016 5:15 pm PostPost subject: VBox genius help please !
razzele
user


Joined: 26 Mar 2012
Posts: 113
Location: United Kingdom

Reply with quote

Hi my newest acquisition has some sort of Racelogic Vbox fitted.



It has two inputs for cameras but only one camera fitted.

The second camera port seems to be connected to two microphones positioned inside the cabin.

How do i get two cameras working?

Also do i need to press record on the box every time i want it to record ? (its under a removable nose cone so a bit of a pain)

cheers
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
 
Sun May 15, 2016 6:18 pm PostPost subject:
AK
Site Admin


Joined: 27 Nov 2006
Posts: 20094
Location: Aberdeen

Reply with quote

Do you know the model?
_________________
Impreza Race Car - SLS/SMRC
Mini Race Car - SMRC
911 - 1981 Air Cooled 3.0
500 - 1969 Fiat 500 L
Toureg 262 RLine
Track Scotland
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
 
Sun May 15, 2016 6:18 pm PostPost subject:
AK
Site Admin


Joined: 27 Nov 2006
Posts: 20094
Location: Aberdeen

Reply with quote

Manual - http://racelogic.co.uk/~racelogi/index.php/en/customer-area/manuals-datasheets
_________________
Impreza Race Car - SLS/SMRC
Mini Race Car - SMRC
911 - 1981 Air Cooled 3.0
500 - 1969 Fiat 500 L
Toureg 262 RLine
Track Scotland
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
 
Sun May 15, 2016 8:31 pm PostPost subject:
razzele
user


Joined: 26 Mar 2012
Posts: 113
Location: United Kingdom

Reply with quote

well this is part of the problem, it has VBVD10 written on it which doesn’t jump out as anything listed in the manual section!


oops found it - its a video box lite 2 camera system.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
 
Sun May 15, 2016 8:38 pm PostPost subject:
David Long
established user


Joined: 15 Mar 2009
Posts: 797
Location: Cumbernauld

Reply with quote

It'll work when you plug in another camera, but cam 2 must be a low res one (cam 1 = big full frame, cam2 = low res = picture in picture)

You'll need to make a scene with a second camera to see it. Do that with the Vbox software that's available on the Race logic site under customer area. If you've bought it second hand, I think you'll need to register, and that requires the serial number.

The new scene is loaded from the SD card if you export it in the root directory of the card.
_________________
R600 Dubaru
website
PB @ KH
Duratec in Detail
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
 
Sun May 15, 2016 10:27 pm PostPost subject:
razzele
user


Joined: 26 Mar 2012
Posts: 113
Location: United Kingdom

Reply with quote

Thanks david that will be useful later. Im more struggling with what the last owner did with the wiring. And the differences between my box and the manual !



This manual is meant to be my box but looks nothing like it !
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
 
Mon May 16, 2016 12:29 pm PostPost subject:
David Long
established user


Joined: 15 Mar 2009
Posts: 797
Location: Cumbernauld

Reply with quote

I think you've got an early professional version. The diagram above is the Vbox lite, which is what it became when the 4 cam professional came along. I suspect it is very similar, but I can't see any info on their site for this one. Suggest you contact their customer service. They provide lifetime support if you give them the serial number.
_________________
R600 Dubaru
website
PB @ KH
Duratec in Detail
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
 
Tue May 17, 2016 11:28 am PostPost subject:
razzele
user


Joined: 26 Mar 2012
Posts: 113
Location: United Kingdom

Reply with quote

David you are absolutely right. I have an early Vbox pro unit. Race logic were quite helpful yesterday and i managed to get a little bit out of the box last night up at Knockhill. It’s a great device though seems slightly temperamental, although it could be user error, but sadly it didn’t record my last outing. I felt i was getting a bit more of a handle on the car by then too.

So if there was anyone up there being held up by a badly driven Atom, sorry that was me!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
 
Tue May 17, 2016 11:36 am PostPost subject:
andybell
established user


Joined: 16 May 2013
Posts: 1258

Reply with quote

where is the aerial placed?
_________________
http://www.youtube.com/user/andybalcairn/ to see how bad I drive!!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
 
Tue May 17, 2016 3:03 pm PostPost subject:
razzele
user


Joined: 26 Mar 2012
Posts: 113
Location: United Kingdom

Reply with quote

Ariel or aerial ?

Very Happy


I velcro’d the GPS sensor thingy on to a body panel under the nosecone near the windscreen, not quite in the centre. I have a glass windscreen and a separate aero screen set up for the car so the velcro makes it easily interchangeable.

On the windscreen setup it lurks to the side of the windscreen wiper.

with the nose cone loose -



and nose cone fitted -



and on the aero screen setup

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
 
Tue May 17, 2016 6:03 pm PostPost subject:
David Long
established user


Joined: 15 Mar 2009
Posts: 797
Location: Cumbernauld

Reply with quote

Worth saying that the aerial is designed to have a ground plane (in an electrical sense, it is only one half of the aerial) and should be 'stuck' with the magnet to a steel part. If you can do that, it will work much better.
_________________
R600 Dubaru
website
PB @ KH
Duratec in Detail
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
 
Sat May 28, 2016 10:01 pm PostPost subject:
razzele
user


Joined: 26 Mar 2012
Posts: 113
Location: United Kingdom

Reply with quote

Thanks again. The GPS seems to work, I’m not sure if it can be improved as you suggested.

What format do you use for the SD cards?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
 
Post new topic Reply to topic trackscotland.co.uk Forum Index | Technical    Page 1 of 1

View previous topic
View next topic
Display posts from previous:   




You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum